Not an accredited safe community?

About Us

What is a Safe Community?

A safe community is a place that is attractive to live, work and visit. A safe community is a liveable community, where people can go about their daily activities in an environment that without fear, risk of harm or injury. It increases community well-being by creating an infrastructure in local communities to increase action by building local partnerships and collaborative relationships.

Community safety is not only about reducing and preventing injury and violence. It is about well being, building strong, cohesive, vibrant, participatory communities. Homes, the roads, public spaces and the workplace are safe for everyone to enjoy. This is exactly what the Safe Communities Foundation New Zealand (SCFNZ) does for community development – through leadership and collaboration, to create safer communities to work, play and live.

The majority of community-based injuries and accidents are preventable and predictable – it is this premise that forms the basis for everyone’s safety. Each community or local area is different - each safety approach meets the unique needs of the people, their goals and the community values, working together for better outcomes. SCFNZ specifically supports communities to adopt the Safe Community model to increase well-being and become effective advocates and enablers of injury and violence prevention.

As part of the process, all relevant parties are brought together to complete the safety review outlined by the Pan Pacific accreditation process. By linking all relevant parties, a safe community that stays safe is created. Safety is kept at the top of every community’s priorities by annual check-ups and reaccreditation every 5 years.

How many Safe Communities do we have in New Zealand ?

Currently, just under 70% of New Zealanders live in an accredited Safe Community.There is no ‘one size fits all’ formula for Safe Communities.Each area creates its own structures, priorities and activities that are appropriate and responsive to local needs and conditions.Local authorities are usually engaged, along with key stakeholders including Police, ACC, Fire & Emergency NZ, District Health Boards, local Iwi, and other community agencies. See the full list of accredited Safe Communities, and their priorities, initiatives and outcomes.

Safe Communities Foundation New Zealand

As the visible champion in community-based injury prevention and safety promotion, Safe Communities Foundation New Zealand (SCFNZ) works for the people of New Zealand, by building local partnerships and collaborative relationships.

SCFNZ is a non-profit organisation with charitable trust status, so all funds go back into safety for the community.

SCFNZ has both the capacity and capability to provide ongoing services to the local, regional, national and international Safe Communities community, with dedicated staff and a Board of Trustees provides governance. The Accident Compensation Corporation (ACC), the Ministry of Health (MoH) and the Health Promotion Agency (HPA) fund SCFNZ jointly.


2017 - 2020 STRATEGIC PLAN



International Safety Standards

Based on international safety standards, Safe Communities is recommended as an effective approach by the World Health Organization (WHO). This initiative sparked community action around the world leading to Safe Communities through injury prevention and safety education. SCFNZ can draw on global research and resources in injury prevention, safety management systems and crime prevention through environmental design, for safe community development.

SCFNZ is a Support and Accrediting Centre of the Pan Pacific Safe Communities Network (PPSCN), which brings together Safe Communities from New Zealand, Australia, United States of America and Canada – working closely on injury prevention and community safety management systems. The PPSCN is currently in the process of developing official relations with the WHO.

Sustainable Development Goals W

The Global Goals for Sustainable Development 2030 were born at the United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development in Rio de Janeiro in 2012.These replace the Millennium Development Goals 2000-2015 which focused specifically on developing countries.

The 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) goals and 169 targets set out a universal agenda to achieve sustainable development globally, known as Agenda 2030. The broad goals are interrelated though each has its own targets to achieve. They bring together the three dimensions of sustainable development: economic, social and environmental. They apply to all countries.The SDGs cover a broad range of social and economic development issues. These include poverty, hunger, health, education, climate change, gender equality, water, sanitation, energy, urbanization, environment and social justice.