Not an accredited safe community?

New Zealand Safe Community Network

New Zealand has a well-established local, regional and national Safe Community network that supports wellbeing, placemaking, resilience and community safety. The following are Safe Communities that have been accredited by the Safe Communities Foundation New Zealand:

The following communities are working towards Safe Community accreditation:

  • Tararua Distirct
  • Te Hiku o Te Ika (Kaitaia)

The following communities are showing Interest in becoming a Safe Community:

  • Central Otago
  • Rangitikei District
  • South Taranaki District

The following are previous Safe Communities which are no longer active:

Rotorua District

Nelson City/Tasman District

Porirua City

Tairawhiti/Gisborne District

Wairarapa (Carterton, Masterton & South Wairarapa Districts)


Whangarei District